Directed by AACTA Award-Winning filmmaker Dylan River, the '80s road series is currently filming in Alice Springs

L to R: Dylan River, Sherry-Lee Watson, Will McDonald
L to R: Dylan River, Sherry-Lee Watson, Will McDonald

September 14, 2023 – Stan, Australia’s unrivalled home of original productions today announced that filming is underway in Alice Springs on the brand new Stan Original Series Thou Shalt Not Steal, with Sherry-Lee Watson (Heartbreak High), Will McDonald (Heartbreak High, Young Rock), Miranda Otto (The Clearing, Talk To Me, Stan Original Film The Portable Door) and Noah Taylor (Peaky Blinders, Game of Thrones) to lead the cast of the eight-episode road series set in Central and South Australia during the 1980s. 

Thou Shalt Not Steal is directed by AACTA Award-winning filmmaker Dylan River (Mystery Road: Origin, Robbie Hood) who also serves as co-creator alongside AACTA Award-winning executive producer Tanith Glynn-Maloney (Finding Jedda, She Who Must Be Loved, Robbie Hood). The series follows Robyn (Watson), a young Aboriginal delinquent searching for the truth behind a mysterious family secret, who escapes from detention and reluctantly teams up with awkward teenager Gidge (McDonald). Together they flee her small central desert community on a perilous journey across the outback, finding answers and learning some hard life lessons along the way. Hot on their heels are Maxine (Otto), a sex trafficker whose taxi Robyn stole, and Gidge’s domineering father Robert (Taylor), a fraudulent preacher.

Director and co-creator Dylan River said: "My family always said, be careful what you write, you might have to make it one day! I’m so thrilled with the team we have assembled for Thou Shall Not Steal and can’t wait for audiences to join our cast of characters for a good old fashioned road trip from the NT to SA."

Thou Shalt Not Steal features an impressive ensemble cast including Natasha Wanganeen (Stan Original Series The Tourist, The New Boy), Warren H Williams (True Colours, The Secret Daughter), William McKenna (The Messenger, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), Darren Gilshenan (Stan Original Series No Activity, Stateless, Harrow), Shari Sebbens (The Sapphires, The Office Australia), Fiona O’Loughlin (Get Krack!n, That's Not My Dog!), Damian Walshe-Howling (Last King of the Cross, Janet King), Geoff Morrell (The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power, Top of the Lake: China Girl), Justin Rosniak (Mr Inbetween, Last King of the Cross), Andy Golledge (Robbie Hood), Eddie Baroo (Irreverent, Blueback), Fletcher Humphreys (Stan Original Series Scrublands, Last King of the Cross), and more.

The series is produced by multi-Emmy and BAFTA Award-winning Ludo Studio by Charlie Aspinwall and Daley Pearson (Bluey, Robbie Hood), and Sophie Miller (The Family Law), alongside producer Sam Moor (Bluey) with Since1788 Productions. Cailah Scobie and Donna Chang Executive Produce for Stan. Thou Shalt Not Steal has received major production investment from Screen Australia with support from the South Australian Film Corporation, Screen Territory and by Screen Queensland’s Post, Digital and Visual Effects (PDV) Incentive. DCD Rights will manage international distribution.


The Stan Original Series Thou Shalt Not Steal is now in production.

For more information, contact Stan Publicity: 



 ​ ​ ​ ​ ​ 


Get updates in your mailbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I confirm I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy.

About Stan

Stan is a world-class subscription video-on-demand service for Australian consumers. Stan offers unlimited access to thousands of hours of entertainment, with first-run exclusives, award-winning TV shows, classic catalogue, blockbuster movies and an exciting slate of kids content. Stan can be watched in full HD on your TV or favourite device, including tablets and smartphones. Stan is backed by the Australian media powerhouse, Nine.